ESV Heirloom Single Column Legacy Edition (Crossway)!!!

P1010047

As I write, it is the official release day for the ESV Heirloom Single Column Legacy Bible (henceforth HL), a day I have eagerly awaited!  I obviously love goatskin Bibles.  I have demonstrated that I also love single column Bibles as well as the English Standard Version.  There are currently only a few Bibles on the market that check all three of those boxes, and the HL is arguably the best on every front.  Crafted “from start to finish” at the highly acclaimed Dutch bindery, Jongbloed, this Bible is a true delight to behold.


Externals

5 Shades of Brown!  Clockwise starting at the top right:  brown goatskin Pitt Minion, brown cowhide ESV, brown calfskin Clarion, brown Allan ESV...and the HL in the center!
5 Shades of Brown! Clockwise starting at the top right: brown goatskin Pitt Minion, brown cowhide ESV, brown calfskin Clarion, brown Allan ESV…and the HL in the center!

P1010065The cover is hand-crafted in a smooth and supple goatskin, sourced from India and finished in the U.K (“vegetable tanned” goatskin). Compared to R. L. Allan’s Highland Goatskin, this is thicker; I would be hard pressed to pick a favorite.  Mine is “deep brown”, and I have to say, it is the darkest brown Bible I have ever seen; it is very classy.  The linings are a very nice brown leather, which gives the HL an edge over the Cambridge Clarion‘s polyurethane linings.  Limp and flexible are both accurate characterizations of the HL.  The binding is smythe-sewn and has the expected flexibility that goes with the territory.  As with most goatskin Bibles, this one is edge-lined, which is generally longer-lasting and more flexible than the traditional paste-down method of bookbinding.

P1010057

As with the ESV Heirloom Thinline and the ESV Omega (also bound in goatskin at Jongbloed), the HL also has some strong hinges to reinforce the binding and increase longevity.  In his review of the Heirloom Thinline, J. Mark Bertrand lamented these hinges P1010050because they apparently prevent the Thinline from laying open.  I am happy to report that, with the HL, the hinges create no such dilemma.  This puppy sits open unaided in Genesis 1, right out of the box.  While it doesn’t lay perfectly flat, I expect this to only improve with use.

This the only goatskin Bible I’ve ever seen with raised hubs on the spine, which I heartily applaud!  And no, your eyes are not playing tricks on you:  The HL has a semi-yapp cover (which I did not expect)!P1010036

There are four ribbons:  black, dark brown, lighter brown, and tan.  The colors really work, though some will doubtlessly frown upon the ribbons’ shortness and thinness.  While I would prefer ribbons in the style of R. L. Allan, I fully recognize (and would also ask the reader to recognize) the sheer silliness of allowing ribbons to factor heavily into a critique!  (Really?!…Ribbons?!)  If you don’t like them, cut them out and replace them (follow the link for a video tutorial, but be warned–this will void your lifetime warranty).  But for me and most others, the HL‘s ribbons do the job fine, and look relatively good in the process.

P1010053The HL features art-gilding, which is the application of red-dye under the traditional gold foil on the page edges.  This is a feature that we’ve seen in many high-end Bibles, and it holds both aesthetic and pragmatic value; it makes the page edges look classy and wear better.  The inside cover features a golden gilt-line around the outside, adding a subtly beautiful frame for the open text block.

Since you insist, here’s the dimensions: the trim size is 6″x9″ (not factoring in cover overhang, i.e. yapp) and the thickness is 1.25″.  This is a full size Bible, but not as bulky as many on the market.

There is basically nothing Crossway could have done to make this look any better, unless you’re still caught up on the ribbon thing.  Come on people!!! (And maybe they could have made the imprinting on the spine less busy– we get it, it’s the ESV!)


Internals

P1010051

The layout of the HL is, simply put, the most thoughtful and beautiful I have seen in any Bible.  Ever.  Period.  Here’s what Lizzy Jeffers of Crossway has written of it:

The inviting reading experience of the Single Column Legacy Bible was inspired primarily by Robert Bringhurst’s typesetting philosophy in The Elements of Typographic Style. The page layout is based on the Renaissance ideal of a perfect page, which means that there is a measured and precise layout of the text and margins–what Renaissance thinkers considered to be perfect proportions.

An ideal reader’s edition incorporates this philosophy by prioritizing the Bible text and allowing it to be the dominant feature on the page. In order to accomplish this, we chose a single-column format and opted not to include cross-references, introductions, or other special features. We also placed the subject headings in the margin instead of in-line with the text, freeing the reader to engage the biblical text with fewer interruptions.

The “Renaissance ideal of the perfect page” is something I can definitely get used to.  As you can see, there is a greater than usual amount of white space on the page (1″ margins, etc.).  While the notetaker might consider this blank space to fill, and the pragmatist might consider it wasted space to eliminate, the person with an eye for design and beauty will see something else here.  Ever since I first saw the ESV Legacy last year, I was smitten.  No Bible is at once as elegant and easy on the eyes as the Legacy, and we have the design, along with all that white space, to thank for that.  If you have the first printing of the original Legacy, then the HL has one difference shared by the updated printing of the Legacy: the text is shifted outward (maybe 1/4″-1/8″), so there is a tad less outer margin and a tad more inner margin.  This is a major improvement, in my view, as it keeps the text further out of the gutter (which was a problem I had with my first-run Legacy). Line matching and 9 point lexicon font with 10.75 point leading aids the readability immensely.  Add to this the aforementioned art-gilding and gilt line and what you have when you open and behold is something unique and extraordinary…as close as it gets to the perfect single column Bible so far.

I must launch a preemptive strike against what many of you will probably criticize:  The paper.  The original Legacy was printed at L.E.G.O. in Italy on 36 GSM Thincoat Plus paper, while the HL is printed on 28 GSM Indopaque paper at Jongbloed.  Before you get your undies in a bundle, allow me a moment please!  The show through on the HL is slightly more noticeable than the original Legacy, but I believe this is acceptable given the tradeoffs.  First, this paper is a softer, creamier white than the bright white of the original Legacy.  This makes it easier on the eyes.  (It also has a softer and “silkier” texture.) Second, the form factor is more appealing due to the thinner paper; this Bible is thinner by about .25″ and hence more portable.  Third, the particular paper used in the HL makes “28 GSM” misleading.  There’s more to opacity than the GSM rating, and the differences between the HL and the original Legacy are not paramount (see photos below).  For the softer colored paper, as well as all the bells and whistles I’ve already referenced in this review (see above!!!), the HL is well worth it.  If you’re tempted to see it as a disappointment due to the paper choice, I implore you to reconsider.  I don’t think you’ll regret it (although neither is high opacity my hobby horse, as it is for some).

Heirloom Legacy (Poetry)
Heirloom Legacy (Poetry)
Original Legacy (Poetry)
Original Legacy (Poetry)
Original Legacy (Prose)
Original Legacy (Prose)
Heirloom Legacy (Prose)
Heirloom Legacy (Prose)
Original Legacy/36GSM (left), Heirloom Legacy/28GSM (top), and Cambridge Clarion/27GSM (bottom)
Original Legacy/36GSM (left), Heirloom Legacy/28GSM (top), and Cambridge Clarion/27GSM (bottom)

Conclusion

When I began writing this review, I was on the fence regarding single column options.  After the analysis, comparisons, and photo-shoot, I think I have fallen from the fence on the side of the Heirloom Single Column Legacy Bible.  Sure, some Bibles do certain things better.  But taking readability, materials, binding quality, and aesthetics all into consideration together, this one takes the cake.  Are you getting the picture?  In case you’re not, allow me to remind you that I’m quite picky and I have handled nearly every premium ESV on the market, and never have I held a nicer Bible than this.  And at the price point, you can’t go wrong!  Tolle lege!  (“take up and read”).

For more information, look here and here.

You can purchase at crossway.org (blackbrown), evangelicalbible.com, amazon.com, wtsbooks.com, etc!

And lest we get lost in leather-bound English-Bible luxury, please remember to pray for translations in the remaining 1,859 Bible-less languages in our world. Click here to see my heart on the matter and to even support the work of Bible translation.

photo-18

P1010058 P1010056

P1010067P1010068

55 thoughts on “ESV Heirloom Single Column Legacy Edition (Crossway)!!!

  1. I have the black goatskin on order from http://evangelicalbible.com. This is the first I have seen of the brown goatskin in the wild. I might have to make call and change my order! Thanks for the fantastic review. I was on the fence about this vs the Allan New Reader due to the thickness of the original legacy. It looks like this heirloom legacy is almost the exact dimension of the Allan, and has the single column format, which I prefer.

    1. Jimmy, thanks for commenting. It seems our tastes are similar! I seem to recall the Allan ESVNC1 being slightly thinner than the HL, though they’re pretty close (my 1.25″ measurement for the HL may not be exact). And I’m with you– the main lament I had with the ESVNC1 is its two-column reference format! But at the time there was no single-column alternative that measured up in terms of form factor, layout and quality…but obviously, now there is (and at a significantly cheaper price point)! Also, Allan’s forthcoming Legacy will use the original 36GSM book block, so it won’t have the thinness of this one. I think you’ll be happy with it! And I do recommend the deep brown if you can wait a little longer…it almost looks black until you put it next to black.

  2. Great review! Really glad I came across this. You covered all the main issues well with good photos. One of the things I’m wondering is how the HL cover compares with the Allan. I’ve handled them in the past and the leather is very smooth and limp in hand. When Crossway came out with the Omega it felt more stiff to me. You mentioned the HL goatskin is thicker than the Allan but would you say it still has the same flexibility or limpness to it? Thanks again. The brown really looks great with the ribbons.

    1. Thanks for commenting, Steve! I have an inquiry in at Crossway to verify, but I am pretty sure that the leather on the HL is identical to that of the Omega. It is not as limp or flexible as Allan’s Highland Goatskin. That said, with the weight of the HL’s book block, I actually prefer what the HL goatskin offers…it bears it well, while still allowing good flexibility as well as sitting open unaided. And let me clarify: when I say its not as limp as an Allan, I’m just talking about the leather itself and its ability to be scrunched up, etc. When you hold it, the Bible flops on either side of your hand almost just as much as an Allan, if that makes any sense (see the picture above where the Bible is perched open on top of the box).

  3. Compare this new Legacy with the Clarion. What does one do better than the other and vice versa? Which will be your “go to” Bible?

    1. Thanks for the good question, James. I will write a review of the Clarion series soon, and will draw this out more, but here are my preliminary thoughts in answer to your question. Keep in mind, though, that these lists are all largely relative, depending on the eye of the beholder (in this case, my eye!).

      Here’s what the Clarion does better:
      -It is hand-sized
      -The column width is 3.5″ as opposed to the HL’s 4″ columns, which I find makes reading slightly easier
      -The ribbons are better (i.e. longer and thicker)
      -It has cross-references
      -Less busy imprinting on the spine (only “HOLY BIBLE”, “English Standard Version”, and “CAMBRIDGE”)
      -The leather’s grain pattern is more interesting on my Clarion, but that can vary from one cover to the next
      -The leather on mine is slightly more “scrunchable” (i.e. less stiff, though I don’t consider the HL particularly stiff)

      Here’s what the HL does better:
      -More polished finish (i.e. gilt line, leather linings, semi-yapp, etc.)
      -Better paper
      -Better printing (more legible somehow)
      -More consistent line-matching
      -Somehow the page spread is easier on the eyes, due to the typesetting and all that nice white space
      -Its size and layout somehow lends itself to being better in the lap or on the desk than the Clarion
      -Raised hubs on the spine are always nice!
      -I like that you have two color choices in the goatskin, whereas the Clarion is either black goatskin or brown calfskin

      As for which will be my “go to” Bible, it is too soon to tell. You may look at these lists and think it would obviously be the HL, but I need to wait for the initial excitement to wear off before I make that judgement! I’ve had the Clarion much longer, and until I received the HL, it was without doubt my favorite Bible ever. I think I can say from an objective standpoint that the HL is generally a nicer Bible…but “nicest” doesn’t always translate to “my favorite”! Time and use will tell. I hope that helps!

      1. Thanks, Jeffrey for that comparison. Now it has been several months since you posted this- how would you compare them now? Thanks.

      2. Thanks for commenting, Michael. I assume you’re asking about the Heirloom Legacy versus the Clarion? Between those two, I probably prefer the Heirloom Legacy, but only ever-so-slightly. I still like the column width of the Clarion better, and its short/stout form factor is wonderful. But the Heirloom’s crisper typeface and increased margin space, plus the leather linings, gilt line, and raised hubs, elevate it a bit above the Clarion in my view. That is, as long as you don’t mind the substantially larger trim size.

    1. Jimmy, the gilding is about like the Clarion…maybe slightly darker. They’re both produced in their entirety at Jongbloed, so I expect its pretty similar across the board. That said, I seem to recall my Omega being lighter than my Cambridge Bibles at the time, and thus lighter than the HL. I was not fond of the gilding on my Omega so much, but I love it on the HL. Its a really nice salmon shade…but not the brilliant red/pink of an Allan. I’ll add a photo of the HL by the Clarion and Allan to show the comparison.

  4. Thanks for the review. I love the paper the original Legacy has. I own some Nasb’s made by Lockman that have very opaque paper. Maybe you have heard how good the US printed Lockmans are? Having said that, my Tru-Tone esv legacy’s paper is on the level as the Lockmans I own. I don’t know of any bibles that have better paper than my Legacy. Bright white,imo, contrasts black print better. Also writing in the margins with micron pens show hardly any ghosting. I’m saddened by crossways choice for paper in their new legacy. Its paper was a major benefit and made the Legacy a great alternative for a wide margin.

    1. Thanks for commenting, Bry. I understand your sentiment, and I was a bit disappointed at first too–wondering “why did they change what was nearly perfect?!” I would have probably preferred they stick with the 36GSM Thincoat Plus. But at the same time, the thinner form factor is also nice. I haven’t tried writing in it yet, so I’m not sure how it will handle ink. You may be interested in picking up the forthcoming Allan treatment of the original Legacy sometime next year.

      1. Yes indeed! Sometime “later next year” is the latest I’ve heard from Ian Metcalfe. (at least I’m pretty sure they’re using the original L.E.G.O. sheets)

      2. What have been your thoughts on the HL paper compared with the ESV Clarion paper Jeffrey? I love the form factor of my Clarion and keep it around but I’m still a bit disappointed by the thin paper that allows so much show through and then there is the terrible line matching. Your review of the HL has prompted me to take out my Lego Legacy again after using the Readers for a few months now. I’m finding it is really nicer to read from than the Clarion or the Readers with the dark crisp print.

      3. Thanks for commenting, Steve! I think the paper and the layout are almost categorically better on the HL. There’s slightly less show-thru, better line matching, slightly crisper font, and another unforeseen perk is the extra 1/8″ or so in the inside margin. That means it doesn’t have the problem that the Clarion has of text creeping a bit too far into the gutter. I do like that the Clarion columns are a bit narrower though (by about .5″). I’ll compare the paper more in the near future when I review the Clarion series in all three binding options.

  5. Thanks for a very informative review. I ~like you~ have been searching for that (almost) perfect single column ESV with no references, but one that I can read with my more “mature” eyes. I bought the original Legacy in a TruTone cover just to see how it would work for me without investing a lot of money. There were many positives and also some negatives to that edition, of course (one ribbon, e.g.). My wife liked it so much she absconded it and uses it for her regular Bible now. I was seriously leaning toward this Heirloom Legacy in a leather cover, but I am now hesitant because of the thinner paper. I agree with Bry above that the thicker paper of the original Legacy is about as good as it’s going to get in a Bible (excluding Schuyler’s new Quentel series), and I’m somewhat disappointed in Crossway’s decision to use a thinner paper. I would much prefer a little more bulk and more opaque paper. But, that having been said, I may opt for the HL to compare the ghosting and compare it with the original Legacy on my own desk. It is hard to get a true visualization from pictures on a computer screen.

    Again, thanks for a nicely done review.

    Rev. Scott Davis, RN
    Moberly, Missouri

    1. I think I will probably buy the HL and see how it is. I imagine that it would be better than a Clarion? I love the single column with no references. I just received a Schuyler NKJV in brown today. I know this thread is about the ESV but because its a large print bold font single column I had to buy it. My eyes aren’t that good. I love it. I wonder if that’s the paper that’s in the new Legacy?

      1. I’m not sure what paper is in the Schuyler NKJV, but that Bible does look really interesting. Did you see the Bible Design Blog posting about it? And the HL is slightly better than the Clarion with respect to ghosting… and its a better overall Bible in my opinion (at least my current opinion), but you’ll have to look for yourself : )

    2. Thanks for commenting, Scott. See my reply to Bry about the paper… I also would have liked to see the 36GSM again, but all things considered, this is still an amazing Bible and I stand by my feeling that it “takes the cake” as far as the current, single-column Bibles (not just ESVs) available. I recommend it! But also as mentioned to Bry, if you’re set on the original L.E.G.O. text block, Allan will be binding it sometime next year. I may check that one out too, but the Crossway edition has a lot to commend itself and I’m not positive that I’d even prefer the Allan.

      1. One disadvantage I’ve found with the LEGO block is that after using it [literally] constantly for three years the paper has started to fray on the edges and tear in places. Hopefully, the Heirloom paper won’t have that problem. Nevertheless, I’m finding it increasingly hard to read the Clarion because my eyes are so adjusted to the wide margins of the Legacy.

      2. Thanks for posting, Duncan. Interesting. I wonder why its fraying and tearing…and I hope the Jongbloed printings fair better after a few years. Did you ask the good folks at Crossway? I’d be interested to hear their response. And I agree– the Legacy’s use of white space is what leads me to prefer it over the Clarion. I hate how the Clarion text crowds the gutter…and the HL gives even more gutter margin than the original Legacy, which I probably mentioned in my review. Now if it could bump up the font size to 10 point (or narrow the column width by .5″) it would be even better!

      3. To comment as to why the page edges began to fray and tear in places on the LEGO block (with Tru-Tone), I suppose it’s because I’ve been in the habit of thumbing through the pages when looking up passages. After a while the gold edging began to wear off. The Heirloom Legacy I received recently has been returned because the quality wasn’t very good, as I assess quality. This means that I wasn’t aware that the lining is bonded – not a deal breaker; also the embossing on the spine was sloppy and uneven in places; then the block wasn’t attached to the cover evenly; then there are those hinges. I guess I’ll just have to wait for the Allan later this year.

      4. Thats unfortunate about your original Legacy, and I’m sure Crossway would replace it if its a flaw. As for your thoughts on the Heirloom Legacy, I find the bonded leather liner perfectly satisfactory–its not as flexible as an Allan (do they use calf split leather?), but I like it in its own right. The hinges also don’t bother me, as they lose some of their resolve with use. But I know others share your feelings about those two issues. As for your other two issues (sloppy embossing and uneven binding), they seem to be genuine flaws, which my copy does not share. I’d say they warrant a replacement if you were interested (but it sounds like you’re not).

    1. To my eyes the darkness of the print looks the same on both…although show through is a bit more noticeable on the HL so it doesn’t “pop off the page” quite as much as in the original. I still love it though!

    1. Ha! Good question…I can’t personally imagine choosing the black over the brown in this case…but that may just be me! I suppose black is classic from one point of view, but unoriginal from another : )

  6. My wife has the calfskin esv … and I recently picked up the HL in black goatskin. It’s super nice, but am bit thrown by the goatskin. Perhaps I’m a little off, but doesn’t it feel kind of like bonded leather? I’m considering sending it back to get the single line legacy in cowhide. Talk me out of it.

    1. Hi David…thanks for commenting! Have you had other goatskin Bibles that you’re comparing it too? I have had all manner of goatskin and calfskin, as well as bonded leather (yuk!), and my HL is nothing like bonded leather. Neither is it quite like Allan’s goatskin or Cambridge’s, but I honestly don’t really like it any less than those…in fact, I probably like it almost as much as Allan, and better than Cambridge. It is not as flexible as some goatskins, but it is fantastic overall and only gets better with use. I know there is sometimes variation in the leather, so maybe your copy has a different feel than mine. If its bad, you could maybe try an exchange (?). I usually ask the vendor to open the Bible and make sure it’s a nice one with no flaws and a nice supple and pretty leather…I know evangelicalible.com will do that for you. And as for the Legacy in brown top grain cowhide, if thats what you’re referring to, all I can say is “DON’T DO IT!” I’ve had that one and I promptly dispatched it. It feels like bonded leather to me (stiff, cardboard lined, and doesn’t open flat)…and I very much preferred the trutone Legacy to that one! If you really don’t like the HL, then the answer I would suggest is waiting for R. L. Allan to wrap up the Legacy in their highland goatskin, which should happen next year. It will be fantastic…that will do battle with the HL for my affections in the future 🙂

  7. Nice review. I am on the fence with this one, owning both it and the Clarion. There Is just something about the wider column width and more characters per line that makes it (the Legacy) more difficult for me to read. For one, it seems I have more trouble picking up the next line of text as I move down the column on the Legacy. For another, despite whatever the official specs are on the leading of the two editions, the Clarion seems to have a bit more spacing between the lines and the text seems to breath more, and is more comfortable to MY eyes.
    Which is a shame, because it really is a beautiful Bible to look at, while I find it a bit uncomfortable to read.

    1. Thanks for commenting, Alan. Yeah, I hear what you’re saying. I don’t know if it was in this review or in my Clarion review, but I referenced a sort of “optical illusion” in the Clarion. The font and leading both look larger in the Clarion than in the Legacy, when in reality its the reverse. And I agree that the Clarion seems to have more “breathing room” line to line, though horizontally the Legacy has it beat with all that white space in the margins. I think what accounts for this is the smaller page spread and fewer words per line in the Clarion–the page somehow looks more “manageable”. Its definitely a really tough call between these two, but I fall on the side of the Legacy if I had to choose…slightly better “outsides” to the Bible, and I think the page spread is just so beautiful! I’m actually really finding myself drawn more and more to my new Allan ESVNC1 in navy (which I’ll showcase on the blog in the near future), even though its so different than both of these with its double column format.

  8. Great review. I’m currently on the fence about ordering an original Legacy to have rewrapped by Leonards (in something like British Tan or Red) or ordering a HL. I do wish the original Legacy had the art gilding, then it would be a lot easier decision to make. The ultimate for me would be the opaque paper in the Legacy and the art guild on the HL. I do have a question I was hoping you could help with. Do you know if the adjustments to the margins made in the HL are also on the current run of the original Legacy? Reading through the comments, I see that you have mentioned an Allan Legacy in the near future. Would that mean the same paper as the current Legacy?

    1. Hi Matt. Thanks for commenting! That would be a good question for Crossway…I think they may have adjusted the margins on subsequent printings of the “original” Legacy too, but I’m not sure. I think Allan might have theirs out this year, and that may be worth the wait. I like the L.E.G.O. paper better too.

  9. Has anyone had any luck with the stiff hinge softening up over time? It seems like that is really the only true downfall of this design (the other faults depend on the user’s personal preferences). Also, does anyone have any input regarding writing in this bible? I’ve read enough to be comfortable that the original Legacy does not bleed through very bad when using the correct archival type pens. However, I haven’t been able to find any comments about bleed through in this bible considering that the pages of the Heirloom are considerably thinner than that of the original Legacy. Thanks for any help! I’m just about to hit the order button for this one!

    1. Hello!Hello!
      While I haven’t spent enough time with the Heirloom Legacy to give you a tried-and-true method for taming the hinge, some preliminary findings might help. My first attempt involved isolating the hinge and working it back and forth gently to try and loosen it up. I did this by pinching the endpaper on either side, then followed up by running my finger down the gutter to open the hinge up. The results weren’t very impressive: mostly this just made the hinge stick out more, bowing the cover. My second method seems to work better: I opened the Bible as flat as it would go, then applied gentle pressure to the highest point either side of the gutter, pressing them flatter. Repeating this process every 200-300 pages or so, I worked from the front of the Bible to the back. While this didn’t fix the problem, it did result in a marked improvement. You can write on it with some pens and it does not bleed through, but you can see your writting on the next page.

      1. Thanks for the input, Guido. I would imagine this hinge will relax with time and use more than anything, but an initial “breaking in” such as you’ve described surely aids on the front end of the process!

  10. I received the brown version as a graduation gift last month. I must say, the reviews/pictures/etc. do not do these Bible’s justice! It is truly a work of art and Crossway has outdone themselves!

  11. Amazon has a brown goatskin with a publication date of September 30, 2014, at a cost of $217.79 for Prime subscribers. However, crossway.org offers a more recent publication date (January 31, 2015) at a cost of $349.99. Can anyone here shed light on (a) differences between these two versions, (b) why the difference in cost is so great, and (c) whether paying the difference to purchase from crossway.org is worthwhile?

  12. Hey. Great meticulous review. I work with Wycliffe Bible translators and I have my dark brown legacy coming via some friends who are traveling. So needless to say I love your review. blessings and love.

      1. I work in the Central African Republic with an Old Testament translation team (with SIL too). Since we’re in SIL you know how to e-mail me . Full name is adam huntley. My handcarry is arriving this evening with my legacy heirloom and my reader’s gospels!

  13. Question for anyone with original ESV Legacy and the new edition, which i believe has had text shifted to outer margin leaving more gutter.
    Has Crossway changed the text word/letter count per line or changed the margin width? I’ve just been looking at a pdf layout on wtsbooks website and notice extra words in some lines compared with my copy which I purchased when first released. Specifically in Matthew 6:2 on second paragraph line, my line ends with “praised” and the pdf I’m looking at moves “by” from next line up right after “praised.”

    1. Hi Steve. My understanding is that nothing changed in the typesetting except for shifting the column outward a tad. If you e-mail Crossway, they could give you a more definitive answer. Let me know what you find out!

  14. Very helpful review!

    I’ve got a question: I have one of the original Legacy Bibles that I got from Christianbook.com ($14! With an upside-down Forest/tan cover), and I’m debating whether I should have Leonard’s Books put a new cover on it, or spend more to get the Heirloom. I plan on using it as a wide-margin note-taking Bible, so it seems that I’d be better off with the thicker paper in the cheaper Bible. Any thoughts?

    1. Thanks Elijah. For your purposes, I would recommend having your L.E.G.O. printed Legacy rebound. Here’s a couple considerations in favor of this recommendation: (A) The L.E.G.O. edition’s 36gsm paper is more suitable to marginalia than the 28gsm of the Heirloom Legacy; (B) The paper is less prone to curl on the L.E.G.O. edition; (C) With the variety of binders out there, you can completely customize a rebind and thus get it just how you want it. Against this recommendation: Depending on who you chose to do the work and what leather you select, you might spend more on the rebind, though not necessarily. But personally, I’d gladly spend a bit more to have that thicker paper and a completely customized Bible. I would recommend Benjamin Vannoy (http://bensbibles.com), Diego Caloca Jr. (https://calocabible.com), or Leonard’s Book Restoration Station (http://www.leonardsbooks.com). Personally, I’d ask whoever rebinds it to (A) round out the spine (I know Ben and Leonards can do this, probably Diego too) and (B) add art gilt (Ben and Diego will both do this, or you can do it yourself if you read my post on the subject). One final note: Ben and Diego are slightly more customizable than Leonards, and I like they’re leather-lined, full-yapp bibles much more than Leonards. But Leonards probably is the most “polished” and they do better work if you want paste-down or hardcover. Let me know how things turn out!

      1. Wow, thanks for giving me such a thorough reply! I’ve had a large study Bible rebound with Leonard’s before, and was quite happy with it. I could probably get this one done to match. If I’m figuring the cost correctly, the grand total would actually be a bit more than half the cost of the Heirloom. (And WAY less than half the cost of the Heirloom’s astronomical list price.)

  15. Curious. It has been a while since you have had your HL. I just received mine from Crossway. I love it. Here is my question. When I bought the Clarion the pages curled quite a bit. After a year in use it started to calm down on the curling. Maybe it was the natural oils that come from my hand, or just being exposed to the elements more that did it. Did you find that the HL did the same thing over time? The curling is pretty crazy…a little insight would be helpful.

    Thanks.

    1. Sorry, I can’t say because I don’t have that one anymore. I have heard that the curling calms down. And I believe its paper is identical to your Clarion, so you’re experience should be similar.

Leave a Reply

